book thoughts

Weekend Reads

What are you reading this weekend?

I’m currently doing my annual re-read of the Throne of Glass series which means I’m reading Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas. When I first read this book I enjoyed it but I didn’t love it like everyone else. It felt like a normal book, but I did love the characters. The mixed up storyline confused me a bit. It wasn’t until the end of book 2 that I was really invested in the story.

A lot of people say that they don’t like the series because of the first book. I get that, I completely do. What frustrates me is when people rail on and on about why they dislike the book, especially when they haven’t read them all. Everyone has their likes and dislikes. Please do not try and justify them and convince me to dislike something too.

(Sorry, bit of a rant there).

I am really enjoying this re-read. The characters are different which shows how much they have grown in the story and experiences they’ve had. (Who doesn’t love character development?) What I am loving is reading all about Brannon and Elena, and lots of other background to the Throne of Glass world, especially knowing things we only discover in books 3 and 4.

Celaena and Dorian and Chaol are all great characters. Problematic but great. And Nehemia. I have mixed feelings about her (still after the re-read!) And I like reading about Kaltain, knowing how her story progresses.

I am super excited for Empire of Storms and have already pre-ordered my copy. Did you know about the preorder deal? Check it out here for some free stuff!

Anyway, this weekend I am enjoying this book and then I am thinking of starting Illuminae. I have an opportunity to get a signed copy of Gemina so I want to read Illuminae so I know I like it. I’m also going to see if I can pick up Harry Potter and the Cursed Child tomorrow – not sure if I’ll get one though because I haven’t preordered it!

What are you reading this weekend? Has anyone been doing a re-read of Throne of Glass?

Till next time.

Maddy

Leave a Reply

