book thoughts

July Book Haul

This post is a few days late but oh well! Better late than never.

I had a good month for book buying with getting 5 new books, only four of which I paid for (yay for freebies!)

I got:

  • Written in My Own Hearts Blood – Diana Gabaldon

P1030542.JPG

This is the ninth and final book (so far) for the Outlander series. I am putting off reading this for a while because they are mammoth books (as you can see) and I don’t want to have to wait another four years for the next one. Diana writes incredibly well and thoroughly researches each book so they are worth the wait but I don’t want to have to deal with it. One year is hard enough!

Anyway, this explores the continued story of Claire, Jamie, Lord John, Ian, William, Roger and Brianna – woah! Lots of stories, lots of tension, especially as Jamie has reemerged from the dead, to find Claire has married someone else. Uh oh. Super excited for this when I get around to it. Buy it here.

  • And I Darken – Kiersten White

I received this in my The YA Chronicles box this month and I am excited to read it. It has gotten great reviews. From what I understand this is a version of Vlad the Impaler but the main character is a girl. That’s pretty much all I know so I’m excited to jump into it! Buy it here. Buy it here.

  • Our Tiny Useless Hearts – Toni Jordan

I received this after winning a Facebook competition from Berkelow books. It’s not a book I would usually buy but anyway! Always good to have another read. Buy it here.

  • Illuminae –  Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

P1030545.JPG

I couldn’t resist the urge to buy this book after everything I have heard about it. From what I understand it is a space adventure, but again I am really unsure. It’s written in a really different way, with documents, images, interviews and apparently has a whole lot of twists that were unexpected. Keen to start it tonight actually! Buy it here.

  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne & John Tiffany

And another one I couldn’t resist! I mostly bought this one to complete my Harry Potter collection but also because I wanted to read it before I heard too many spoilers. This is a continuation of the 19 years later story of Harry Potter. Personally, I didn’t enjoy it and don’t count it as part of the series but it was a quick buy and it is a beautiful book. Buy it here.

So there you are! While I bought most of these in-store, The Book Depository has some great deals and free postage so go find them there! How many books did you buy this month? Did you get any of these ones too?

Talk to you soon!

Maddy xo.

Leave a Reply

