book thoughts

5 Books that Cheer Me Up

Welcome to the first Friday Five! If you haven’t heard, this is a new weekly blog post where I list five books about a certain topic. Some may go across a few groups because they are my ultimate favourites.

The first instalment – 5 BOOKS THAT CHEER ME UP. Without further ado, in no particular order:

  • Harry Potter – J.K. Rowling P1030488.JPG

A classic and one that I love so much! When I feel sad I love to pick up any one of the seven books written to enjoy jumping back in the world Rowling has created. One of the things that cheers me up is that I relate to so many of the characters as they are human and their responses are so accurate. Ron is my favourite character with Harry as close second!

If you’ve never read this book series, go for it! Its fun, enjoyable and worth the following it holds. Buy it here. Goodreads.

  • Quintana of Charyn (The Lumatere Chronicles  #3)- Melina MarchettaP1000931.JPG

This book is the best ending to a series I have ever read. I adore the Lumatere Chronicles and wish more people loved it because it is fantastic. Strong female characters, romance, action, intrigue, murder – so much happens in this series. The series starts with Finnikin of the Rock and ends with this one.

Ooh! Just talking about it makes me want to read it again! I love reading the end of the series and visiting the characters again. Do yourself a favour and read this book series.

Buy Book 1 here. Goodreads.

  • Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell P1000904.JPG

This book is such a good feeler! It follow Cath who goes to college and is overwhelmed by it all – and rightly so! She loves to write fan fiction and I love that this book explores the thoughts behind that and it shows off such a great perspective for fan fiction writers. The fact that Levi is in this books makes it great too and just such a good feeler!

If you need a pick me up this is for you!

Buy it here. Goodreads.

 

  • Anna and the French Kiss – Stephanie Perkins P1020914.JPG

Do you like romance? Do you like travel? Do you like laughs? Well, this is the book for you! Anna and the French Kiss is a great fun book set in Paris and it is romantic, sweet and frustrating. Anna and St Clair are great characters and they drive you crazy at some points but it is a definite good feeler. It is part of a series too and all of them are really enjoyable.

It’s one that makes you feel all warm and fuzzy inside.

Buy it here. Goodreads.

  • A Court of Mist and Fury – Sarah J MaasP1030062.JPG

I could talk about ACOMAF for days and days! This book is a great one – worth reading the first one just to get to this one I think because so much happens. This follows the story of Feyre and the character progression is phenomenal. Wanna book about kickass ladies? This book is great. The writing is beautiful in this book and the romance is A+. Go for an adventure and read it! You won’t regret it!

Sarah J Maas is an absolutely fantastic writer and I think this is totally worth the time. It cheers me up because I love so many of the things that happen in this book.

Buy it here. Goodreads.

And so ends The Friday Five! I hope you enjoyed the first instalment!

What would your top 5 books for cheering you up be?

Maddy xx

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

