book thoughts

August Book Haul

How was your month in books?

I told myself I was not going to buy book this month and . . . oops! I got six. In my defence I bought 4 of these in July and they got shipped this month but anyway! Let’s see what I got.

  • The Shatter Me series (3 novels and one companion novella) – Tahereh MafiP1030709.JPG

I read the Shatter Me series in July and absolutely loved it! I had to have my own set and I love these covers. This series was really popular at one point and I completely understand why. This story follows Juliette who has a terrible power which means she can’t touch people. She’s joined on pages by great characters of Warner and Adam and Kenji – Kenji my baby! – and I was disappointed to see it end. It explores such a great dystopian world and has awesome character growth and romances. Definitely one I recommend! Buy it here.

Unite Me is a companion book with two novellas which have perspectives from the two male leads and it is really great to see further insight into this world. Buy it here.

  • War breaker – Brandon Sanderson

I got this book for free off Brandon Sanderson’s website in PDF form and loved it so much that I had to get a physical copy! This is a great book following two sisters and their adventures in an enemy city. It’s a complicated plot but has soP1030766me great parts in it. One character is so perfectly sarcastic I love it. You can read a more in depth review here.

Also – the girls hair changes colours with their emotions which is cool, people use BioChromatic Breath to animate objects and there is a talking sword – what’s not to love? If you get a chance read it!

Buy it here.

 

  • Elantris – Brandon Sanderson

This is another book of Brandon Sanderson’s that has come recommended! I bought it on a whim because I really loved the cover (sorry I don’t have a picture!) and I really enjoyed Warbreaker. This is his first novel, so I am keen to see how different or similar it is!

Elantris was built on magic and it thrived. But then the magic began to fade and Elantris began to rot. And now its shattered citizens face domination by a powerful Imperium motivated by dogged religious views. Can a young Princess unite the people of Elantris, rediscover the lost magic and lead a rebellion against the imperial zealots? Brandon Sanderson’s debut fantasy showed his skill as a storyteller and an imaginer of baroque magical systems to be fully developed from the start.

Buy it here.

There’s my month in books! Next month will be a big one I think because I have the Allen&Unwin YAFanfest16 on Thursday and I know I won’t be able to resist buying books.

What books have you bought this month? Tell me in the comments.

 

Maddy

 

 

3 thoughts on “August Book Haul

  1. I don’t buy a lot of books (I force myself to stay in control) generally, although I do sometimes splurge a little if I see lots of amazing books in charity shops, because they have reasonable prices. I do really enjoy walking around Waterstones shops though, because they’re so beautiful, although I definitely need to force myself not to buy anything, as new books are so expensive! 😛
    https://readandreview2016.wordpress.com/

    Like

      1. I’m an English student, so money always needs to be watched 😂
        My dad trained me as a child not to waste my pocket money and budget, skills I’m so grateful for now! I always look for the cheapest option and I’ve been getting back into using libraries more regularly 😊

        Like

Leave a Reply

