book thoughts

August Wrap Up

How was your month of reading?

I read 7 books this month which is a pretty good month. Only four of these books were new  as I finished my TOG reread this week! (Empire of Storms is less than a week away AHHH). P1030798.JPG

Here are the books I have read and a little blurb about if I liked it!

  • Illuminae – Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

This book was fantastic! I adored it. I wrote a review about it here if you want to hear me rave about it but definitely one to check out as it was so original in writing, plot and characters. This was my favourite book of the month!

  • Unite Me – Tahereh Mafi

This was such a great continuation of the Shatter Me series and I loved seeing Warner and Adams perspectives instead of Juliette’s. Just fantastic really. So many good parts to it. I just love the writing style of Tahereh Mafi, it’s so beautiful.

  • Crown of Midnight – Sarah J Maas

This is the book that made me fall in love with the Throne of Glass series. If you haven’t jumped on the TOG train yet, go for it – there are six books to help you through. CoM has action, romance, heartbreak and plot twists galore!

  • Heir of Fire – Sarah J Maas

I loved Heir of Fire for so many reasons, many of which are discussed here in my book review. I loved the darker themes in this book and the way Sarah J Maas explored them, without brushing them off. I just love this book and always reread parts. I am a sucker for Rowan too so another reason I love it.

  • Queen of Shadows – Sarah J Maas

This is by far the strongest book in the series plot wise. So much happens in this book and I love every part of it! I love the introduction of new female characters and how they have progressed through the series. So many fantastic parts and I loved my re-read.

  • Warbreaker – by Brandon Sanderson

I came across this book by accident and really enjoyed it. It is such a great adventure and a really original plot which is fantastic. I had no idea what was happening and loved having the unknown. You can read my review here.

  • Replica – Lauren Oliver

I only read the first part of this book but I enjoyed it for what I read of it. I definitely want to read the rest when I get a chance. My review of it is here.

So there is my monthly wrap up! 7 books in 5 weeks is pretty good. I am super excited for next month which will be a great month in book buying and book reading. Yay for books!

What has been your highlight book this month? Let me know in the comments!

Maddy

6 thoughts on “August Wrap Up

  1. YAS! EoS release is sooo close. Love that series.My highlight “book” is actually a series I started this month. The 4th book recently released and it’s the only one I have left to read. It is The Arcana Chronicles by Kresley Cole. Totally has me hooked, although there are some flaws in the writing and story itself, it is really engaging and enthralling.

    Like

  2. HP and the Goblet of Fire was by far my favourite re-read of the month! Feeling a little stuck in the Harry Potter world so definitely keen to explore the world of ToG! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

