book review

Book Review: Empire of Storms

P1030829.JPGTitle: Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass 5)

Author: Sarah J Maas

Rating: 5 stars

THIS IS A SPOILER FREE REVIEW AND MY OWN OPINION.

<—-Look at them all in their glory.

Goodreads. Book Depository.

Synopsis:

The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those don’t.

As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

Aelin’s journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

The Goodp1030822

I LOVED THIS BOOK. REALLY REALLY LOVED IT. Ok, I’ll try to be calm. This book really steps up the series a lot, and I’m talking a lot. A lot of plot devices from other books come back in this story and I loved it. There are twists, a lot of ‘what the-‘ moments and the ending was just fantastic. Heartbreaking but fantastic. Seeing all these puzzle pieces come into play was amazing and it really shows the depth of the story Queen Maas has created.

The character progression was really great and I loved seeing how the characters interact. It was awesome seeing some characters from earlier on in the series come back and also great to see how characters grew. Aelin and Rowan have such a natural relationship on the page and I loved seeing more of Aedion and Lysandra (man, I just want to talk about Lysandra!). Manon returned and we got to see more of that aspect of the story and how the witches respond to everything.

I was totally not expecting to fall in love with Elide this book and I loved seeing new characters like Lorcan and others. (I don’t want to say too much about these new characters in case it spoils the story.)

This book is darker than the others as the full scale of the war becomes apparent. Despite being tense, I still could not hold off reading this book. I loved it and can’t wait till the next one is published!

The Bad:

There were some scenes that were a little weird but I don’t want to say too much. That being said, I do not have any issues with anything in this book.

A lot of people have complained about Chaol not being in this book but I don’t see it as an issue. He is receiving his own novella and I am looking forward to reading his story separate to this book. Having Chaol in this book would have made it extremely weird and long and I think Sarah J Maas made a great decision in not forcing him into EOS. That being said, I am looking forward to seeing him come back together with the rest of them in the next book (desperately hope that happens!)

The Best:

Just the writing. Oh man, Sarah just writes some of the best lines I’ve ever written. What amazes me is just how enveloped I am in the story. I breathe faster, my heart races, I get nervous. It’s just such a great reading experience (even when I want to rip my heart out of my chest).

Recommended for:

Throne of Glass lovers, lovers of fantasy, lovers of adventure, lovers of great female characters. Honestly just read this series!

Quotes (Spoiler Free):

“The world will be saved and remade by the dreamers.”

“He was hers and she was his and they had found each other across centuries of bloodshed and loss, across oceans and kingdoms and war.”

“Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen, knew the time would soon come to prove just how much she’d bleed for Erilea.”

“A storm is coming. A great storm.”

THIS BOOK IS GREAT AND JUST DIVE IN PEOPLE. DIVE IN.

Tell me what you thought in the comments or what you are currently reading!

Buy it here.

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Empire of Storms

  1. EEEEKKKK!!!!! Currently reading but only on chapter 2 so far. Thankfully, I have read no spoilers but I have seen people say that the book was disappoint and they didn’t plan on continuing the series. I don’t care what happens, I will always support this series and world and characters Sarah has created. A lot of hate was going towards Chaol in Heir of Fire/Queen of Shadows, but I thought it was realistically played out. So psyched to finish this book!!!!! And thank you for not including spoilers.

    Like

      1. I FINISHED EOS AND IT WAS AMAZING!!!!! I don’t get all the hate on it though. Sure, there are plenty of things I didn’t care for and many unpleasant events. However, it just made this book more intense. I still have to say that Heir of Fire remains as my favorite in the series.

        Like

      2. Agreed. I like all the books, but everyone has their own favorite for their own reasons. Heir of Fire just happens to be mine.
        The ending of Empire of Storms though! I cried so much. Aelin may be be cocky and come off as loud mouth and a braggart, but the ending just reinforces the fact that she is actually super caring and does everything she can for the greater good even at her own expense. She is so self sacrificing when the situation calls for it.

        Like

  2. Oh my goodness this review just made me want to re-read it already! 😍 SUCH A FANTASTIC SERIES! Excellent review as always. Fantastic to be tugged along this literary journey thanks to your recommendation. 😍😘

    Like

Leave a Reply

