book thoughts

5 Reasons Why I Love Pride and Prejudice

Hi guys!

Instead of doing a review of Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen,  one of the books I read this month, I thought I would tell you 5 reasons why I adore this book.

Being a classic, well known book, a lot of people have a lot of thoughts about it and I wanted to share why its a book I love to re-read. Let’s do this!

It was written beyond its time. 

This book has so many fantastic parts to it but one of the great things is that it is so feminist! I love that one of the key aspects of this book is the main character Elizabeth making choices about her love life, even though she should really have been thinking about everyone else. She doesn’t let them bully her into changing. The frantic attitude of her mother, while so funny and frustrating on the page, doesn’t change her mind about Mr Collins or about Mr Darcy. Elizabeth makes her own decisions and is empowered by them.

The book speaks very clearly about the events of the time, the fact that women needed to marry for money and that happy marriages were rare. There is no beating around the bush of why the book is about marriage and romance because it was such a big focus. What I love, is that it is written so obviously. There are no hidden motives from the author. She writes what she knows and how she sees it and we see how crazy and ridiculous it was during her time.

This book is pretty much the whole town turning against an introvert and so it’s pretty funny.

“Only the deepest love will persuade me into matrimony, which is why I will end up an old maid.”

“Happiness in marriage is entirely a matter of chance.”

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.”

It is funny.

There are so many funny parts to this book! I won’t list them all so I don’t ruin the story but honestly, it is so humorous. There are some lines that just so quick and witty that you have to re-read them just to get the benefit of the line.

Whether it’s the proposal of Mr Collins who thinks Lizzie is refusing him to build suspense, or Mr Darcy, thinking that telling her ‘Against my better judgement’ I want to marry you, or even Mrs Catherine De Bourgh who has an opinion on the way you fold clothes, there is no lack of funny parts through this book.

“Really, Mr. Collins,’ cried Elizabeth with some warmth, ‘you puzzle me exceedingly. If what I have hitherto said can appear to you in the form of encouragement, I know not how to express my refusal in such a way as to convince you of its being one.”

“Well, my comfort is, I am sure Jane will die of a broken heart, and then he will be sorry for what he has done.”

“No lace. No lace, Mrs. Bennett, I beg you!”

The romance between Darcy and Elizabeth progresses in a natural way and finishes really nicely.

Who doesn’t love a hate-turned admiration- turned love relationship? Even though you know where the book is going to end, you still invest yourself in these characters and want to know how Darcy is going to win Lizzie over.

I love that the title “Pride and Prejudice” speaks of the both of them. It speaks of Darcy’s pride and Lizzie’s prejudice and how the two of them are at fault.

I love that Darcy makes such a mess of his first proposal and honestly, its the best moment of literature. How am I going to propose? Oh yes, I’ll insult her family, her class, tell her she’s poor but that I love her anyway, that’ll make her love me!

Idiot.

The chapters at Pemberely and then when he wants her to meet Georgiana are just beautiful and it’s the moment when Elizabeth hears from the housekeeper about him that she begins to realise she judged too quickly.

It’s such a pure love story and I love the ups and downs and I smile so much when I read all the moments of them on page together. It’s just beautiful.

“She longed to know what at the moment was passing in his mind, in what manner he thought of her, and whether, in defiance of everything, she was still dear to him. Perhaps he had been civil only because he felt himself at ease; yet there had been that in his voice which was not like ease. Whether he had felt more of pain or of pleasure in seeing her she could not tell, but he certainly had not seen her with composure.”

“Yes,” replied Darcy, who could contain himself no longer, “but that was when I first knew her; for it is many months since I have considered her as one of the handsomest women of my acquaintance.”

“In vain I have struggled. It will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.”

“I cannot fix on the hour, or the spot, or the look or the words, which laid the foundation. It is too long ago. I was in the middle before I knew that I had begun.”

The characters.

The characters are so great. Lydia and Mrs Bennet are so annoying you just want to hit them, you have Mr Bennet who is just so completely done with his whole family except Lizzie, and you have Jane and Lizzie who are somewhat normal. And that’s just some of the Bennets!

Jane Austen has done such a good job at characterising within this book. You love some characters (Mr Bingley!), hate some characters (Lydia and Wickham UGH), and want to know more of others (Mr Darcy and Georgiana). Their actions are funny, and ridiculous in some parts and they progress the story so well.

Each character has such a distinct voice and it makes it such an enjoyable reading experience since you want to know what happens with the characters.

“My courage always rises with every attempt to intimidate me.”

“Well, my dear,” said Mr. Bennet, when Elizabeth had read the note aloud, “if your daughter should have a dangerous fit of illness—if she should die, it would be a comfort to know that it was all in pursuit of Mr. Bingley, and under your orders.”

“For what do we live, but to make sport for our neighbors, and laugh at them in our turn?”

It’s timeless.

Whether you are like Mr Bennet, more interested in books than anything else; like Lizzie, watching girls make fools of themselves while wishing for your own love story; or just simply a lover of stories and wonderful characters, there is something in this book for everyone and always something to get out of it.

Who doesn’t love a romantic comedy?

While the old style of writing may not be your style, it is worth the read and well deserves the status of classic. This book will never not be relevant and I know I will read it again soon.

 

If you have never read Pride and Prejudice and don’t mind reading a classic written a long time ago, I would recommend this book! It’s fun, relevant and romantic. What’s not to like?

Goodreads. Buy it here.

I hope you enjoyed this post! Let me know what you think of Pride and Prejudice if you’ve read it in the comments!

Leave a Reply

