book review

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

Title: Nevernight 26114463

Author:Jay Kristoff

My Rating: 3.5 Stars

Goodreads. Book Depository.

While I didn’t love this book, it definitely took me on a journey and I enjoyed the characters and new story. It was a promising start to a new series! Read on for more spoiler-free thoughts about Nevernight.

Synopsis:

The first in a new fantasy series from the New York Times bestselling author.

In a land where three suns almost never set, a fledgling killer joins a school of assassins, seeking vengeance against the powers who destroyed her family.

Daughter of an executed traitor, Mia Corvere is barely able to escape her father’s failed rebellion with her life. Alone and friendless, she hides in a city built from the bones of a dead god, hunted by the Senate and her father’s former comrades. But her gift for speaking with the shadows leads her to the door of a retired killer, and a future she never imagined.

Now, Mia is apprenticed to the deadliest flock of assassins in the entire Republic—the Red Church. If she bests her fellow students in contests of steel, poison and the subtle arts, she’ll be inducted among the Blades of the Lady of Blessed Murder, and one step closer to the vengeance she desires. But a killer is loose within the Church’s halls, the bloody secrets of Mia’s past return to haunt her, and a plot to bring down the entire congregation is unfolding in the shadows she so loves.

Will she even survive to initiation, let alone have her revenge?

The Good

This book was really interesting and a really new fantasy series. I didn’t realise it was New Adult when I went into it so that threw me a little bit but I got in the groove and did enjoy it. The characters were really believable on the page and I loved the difference between all of the characters and how they each had their own voice.

A book about becoming an assassin? You’d think you’d have read that already with Graceling and Throne of Glass but Kristoff (who is awesome and really nice by the way) wrote a really good book about the aspects of learning how to do things. I love reading stories where the characters have to learn skills so having to learn stealing, seduction and weaponry was really great.

One of the things I loved was the moral side of the story. I loved to see how each of the characters thought about what they were doing it and why they were choosing this path. I liked that the question of revenge came up and was it truly worth it?

The ending of the book was really strong and sad because I’m not sure if something truly happened and I’m devastated if it is true. NO SPOILERS. I really like the way the Prologue and Epilogue are written. I am intrigued to know more!

The Bad 

Alas, this book was overhyped. The biggest issue that can come from all the book websites we loved. I heard a lot about how great this book was and how awesome it was and it fell a bit short of all the great things I heard about it.

This book was very smutty and had quite a bit of gore and violence. I mean, it’s a book about being a killer so it’s kind of expected but it bothered me a bit. I enjoy romance, but it was quite explicit and definitely took the book into the New Adult Genre.

The way it is written to, with the intrusive narrator and footnotes at the bottom of the page, was enjoyable at first but dragged quite a bit throughout the story. I don’t know whether I am a simple reader or just need it to be more clear but it wasn’t as smooth a reading experience as I usually like.

The Interesting

I *love* the fact that Mia is Darkin and everyone fears that. It’s such an interesting concept and I really want to know more.

Recommended for: New Adult fantasy readers and anyone who likes a bit of violence, smut and adventure.

This is not a YA book – I wouldn’t recommend it for people under 16.

Quotes (Spoiler Free):

“The books we love, they love us back. And just as we mark our places in the pages, those pages leave their marks on us. I can see it in you, sure as I see it in me. You’re a daughter of the words. A girl with a story to tell.”

“Your mind will serve you better than any trinket under the suns…It is a weapon…and like any weapon, you need practice to be any good at wielding it.”

“You’ll be a rumor. A whisper. The thought that wakes the bastards of this world sweating in the nevernight. The last thing you will ever be, girl, is someone’s hero.”

Buy it here

Leave a Reply

