unboxing

The YA Chronicles: Gemina Unboxing

Hi guys!

Another month, another book box! The YA Chronicles, an Australian book subscription company, curated a special book box this month for the very anticipated release of Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, the second in the beloved Illuminae Files. Rest assured I was very excited for this box, but mostly for the book!

Let’s start with the box! Because Gemina (like Illuminae) is a huge book the box it came in this month was bigger and better and decorated special. Check it out below, I love it!

Alright! Let’s unbox! This month we had:

  • TYAC special bookmark and contents card
  • “Illuminae” book mark + Author poster
  • Letter from the Authors (which is really funny like them)
  • A print of the Jump Station Heimdell, where the book is based
  • A microfiber pouch with an Illuminae quote on it
  • A Tote bag with design by Evie Bookish and quote from “Gemina”

My favourite item of the month is the print of the Jump Station Heimdell. It’s very cool and I kind of hope that they have more of them available so we can all the vessels. I feel as thought it’ll help me with the story.

The tote bag and the pencil case are cool. Nothing fancy really. I feel like I have a lot of tote bags and the pencil case is not very impressive but I love the colouring.

I have to admit I was a little disappointed because I had the author poster and Illuminae bookmark from an Allen and Unwin event in early September. I wish they were more “Gemina” related.

I love the bookmarks that come with these boxes. I have a huge collection of bookmarks and I am not ashamed. I love the colours they’ve picked for this box too.

However I do have to admit that I have a huge pet peeve surrounding the contents card. Every month, there are spelling mistakes included and this month was no different. I find it really frustrating that there are mistakes like ‘ingenous’ and ‘auhtor’ written on the card. It’s only a little thing, but it makes me frustrated because I am a stickler for good spelling and grammar.  Spell check is important, especially for a small business.

AND NOW THE BOOK: The book is beautiful and it is signed which makes it even more amazing! I adore the colour! Now both books in the series are signed which I love. This book features illustrations from Marie Lu and is about a hundred pages longer than Illuminae. It follows the stories of Hanna and Nik at the same time of the events of Illuminae. I am so excited to finish all my uni assignments so I can start this book!

P1040416.JPG

So there you have it! The Gemina box was packed full and I love the colours of it all. I can’t wait to read it and I hope it lives up to my expectations.

If you got the Gemina box let me know what you think. If you haven’t but you’ve read either Illuminae or Gemina, let me know what you thought in the comments!

See you for my next post!

Maddy

Leave a Reply

