book review

Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo

Title: Six of Crows p1040427_fotor

Author: Leigh Bardugo

My Rating: 5 stars

Goodreads. Book Depository.

This book was one that was well recommended and it did not disappoint! It was fast paced, funny, clever and kept me on the edge of my seat waiting to see what would happen. If you like adventure, unlikely friendships and moral failings, this is the book for you.

Synopsis:

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager
A runaway with a privileged past
A spy known as the Wraith
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first. 

The Good

Where do I even start?

The characters – I love them all. They are all different, with different moral codes which get tested throughout the book. They are all three dimensional and have issues but that makes the six different perspectives throughout the book really easy to read. The fact that they don’t all magically get along is good too, they challenge each other and are realistically flawed.

The girls are just kickass in this book and have so much agency, despite their backstories. Inej really needs no introduction and I love that she picks her life. “Everything in her wanted to say yes, but she would not settle for so little, not after all she’d been through.” Romance, while being an aspect of their stories does not dictate their life and I love that.

The plot – WOW. This book has been out for a year and I wasn’t spoiled for it which is amazing. I loved the storyline, I loved that it interweaved really well between the six perspectives which can sometimes be a hit or miss within books. I had so many questions throughout the book: Does Kaz have a plan? Is Matthias honest? What is Jesper even doing? It was unpredictable and fun and I just really loved it.

The writing – Wonderful. I was prepared to not enjoy this and be disappointed like the Grisha series but I feel like Leigh Bardugo has taken her writing to the next level and I am excited to read Crooked Kingdom next to see what happens. I need to know!

The Bad 

I have zero issues with this book. Absolutely none.

The Interesting

While I enjoyed the Grisha Trilogy, I got to the end a bit dissatisfied with how it was all wrapped up. I think that’s why I ignored this book for so long. However, this one is really different to it and takes the best parts of the series and twists them in new ways to keep you guessing. I had no idea what was going to happen which was fantastic. I love that the Grisha powers were an underlying theme in this book as well as revenge, retribution and corruption. Love me some of that.

Recommended for: Anyone who loves YA, adventure and humour. This is a kickass book.

Quotes (Spoiler Free):

“Kaz leaned back. “What’s the easiest way to steal a man’s wallet?”
“Knife to the throat?” asked Inej.
“Gun to the back?” said Jesper.
“Poison in his cup?” suggested Nina.
“You’re all horrible,” said Matthias.”

“Do you have a different name for killing when you wear a unifiorm to do it?”

“Many boys will bring you flowers. But someday you’ll meet a boy who will learn your favorite flower, your favorite song, your favorite sweet. And even if he is too poor to give you any of them, it won’t matter because he will have taken the time to know you as no one else does. Only that boy earns your heart.”

“I will have you without armor, Kaz Brekker. Or I will not have you at all.” (THIS MAKES SO MUCH SENSE NOW.)

What are you waiting for? Go read it and come back and tell me what you think

Buy it here. 

Cheers,

Maddy

4 thoughts on “Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo

Leave a Reply

