book thoughts

Would you Rather only ever be able to re-read books you’ve read before? Or only be able to read new books?

Would you Rather only ever be able to re-read books you’ve read before? Or only be able to read new books?

I challenged my family with this question not long ago and it has caused me a lot of thought. Who loves ‘Would you rather…” questions? I think they are so much fun.

I love to read in a variety of new forms. I love new books but I love to re-read. If I have read a particularly fantastic new book, I like to reset my mind with re-reading a book I have previously loved. I feel like it resets me so I can start a new book. I did this just recently with Six of Crows – I re-read “The Princess Saves Herself in This One” just to reset before a new book.

If I only ever read old books, books I have read before, I would never know how Throne of Glass ends or the new stories people come up with. There are thousands of books I have never read and I would not want to miss out on them. I have an ever growing TBR list and the idea of never making a dent in it kinda sucks.

However, if I could only read new books, I would never get to revisit Narnia or the world of Harry Potter or any of the fantastic books that I adore. I have books I love to read every year, fun seasonal books and absolute favourites like the Lumatere Chronicles or Jane Eyre.

Ah! What a choice.

I think as a part of this Would you Rather question, I would choose reading new books, because they will never run out. Eventually, I would get sick of re-reading books I had read before (maybe, I’m not convinced.)

What would you pick? Would you rather only be able to re-read books you experienced before? Or only be able to read new books?

Tell me what you think in the comments and we can compare ideas. Let me know what you books you love to re-read too!

Read you later,

Maddy

One thought on “Would you Rather only ever be able to re-read books you’ve read before? Or only be able to read new books?

  1. I would definitely choose to only read new books but I admittedly very rarely re-read books anyway so it wouldn’t be a big loss haha I only really re-read books when the next book in the series is coming out. I like to re-read the previous one to remember what happens. But yeah, I would definitely choose to keep reading new books because there are just so many of them! Imagine all the books you wouldn’t get to discover and fall in love with if you only re-read old books. 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

