book review

Book Review: Words in Deep Blue

Title: Words in Deep Blue P1040596.JPG

Author: Cath Crowley

My Rating: 5 Stars

Goodreads. Book Depository.

This book is a really lovely contemporary novel about books, first love and best friends. It is lyrical, well written and will tug at the heartstrings. (Look at my tags!)

Synopsis:

A beautiful love story for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon: two teens find their way back to each other in a bookstore full of secrets and crushes, grief and hope—and letters hidden between the pages.

Years ago, Rachel had a crush on Henry Jones. The day before she moved away, she tucked a love letter into his favorite book in his family’s bookshop. She waited. But Henry never came. 

Now Rachel has returned to the city—and to the bookshop—to work alongside the boy she’d rather not see, if at all possible, for the rest of her life. But Rachel needs the distraction. Her brother drowned months ago, and she can’t feel anything anymore. 

As Henry and Rachel work side by side—surrounded by books, watching love stories unfold, exchanging letters between the pages—they find hope in each other. Because life may be uncontrollable, even unbearable sometimes. But it’s possible that words, and love, and second chances are enough.

The Good:

This book was so beautiful. I loved the characters, the plot, the book references. This book takes heartbreak and first love and pulls you into a story that just pulls at your heartstrings.

I really loved our two main characters. Henry was funny and idiotic and so understandable. I loved his love of poetry and the way he spoke to Rachel. Rachel was so amazingly written and developed. Dealing with grief and trying to move on was a key part of her story and I really loved the way the author addressed it. The supporting characters were great too. I loved George and Martin and all the other stuff too. There are so many great stories within this book and I don’t want to spoil it.

I liked that this book was so obviously young adult but it didn’t feel overdone. It was original and so full of feeling and emotion

I don’t want to say too much about the book because I think that you should read it but this book is so well written. I have read a lot of books and this one makes me want to read it again and again. It’s simply and heartwarming and just perfect.

The Bad:

I have no issues with this book that are worth writing about. I just loved it.

The Interesting:

The Letter Library was such a cool idea. I love the idea of people writing to others through quotes and underlining and simply writing in books. I love to write in classic books and I love annotating so the idea of reading other peoples thoughts and ideas just intrigues me and catches my interest. I wish there was a Letter Library near my house.

Recommended for: YA readers, contemporary romance readers, book lovers. There’s something for everyone in this book.

Quotes (Spoiler Free):

“So perhaps all things that are worthwhile are terrifying?”

“The letter library  is a section of books that aren’t for sale. Customers can read the books, but they can’t take them home. The idea is the they can circle loved words or sentences on the pages. They can write notes in the margins. They can leave letters for people who’ve read and been there before them.”

“If we all gave up on the things we love when it gets hard, it’d be a terrible world.”

“I’m glad my naked nuts are so hilarious to you all.”

“Sometimes you need the poets.”

“But I love you, and before you say it words do matter. They’re not pointless.”

(These are not even the best quotes, I don’t want to spoil it!)


Buy it here.

Please read this book!

Have you read this book? What did you think of it?

Maddy

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s