book review

Book Review: I am the Messenger

Title: I am the Messenge19057

Author: Markus Zusak

My Rating: 3.5 Stars

Goodreads. Book Depository.

I have such mixed feelings about this book! It was enjoyable and interesting and intriguing. I liked not knowing what was happening and really loved the characters and the storyline. If you’re interested in a mysterious book, go for this one!

Synopsis:

protect the diamonds
survive the clubs
dig deep through the spades
feel the hearts

Ed Kennedy is an underage cabdriver without much of a future. He’s pathetic at playing cards, hopelessly in love with his best friend, Audrey, and utterly devoted to his coffee-drinking dog, the Doorman. His life is one of peaceful routine and incompetence until he inadvertently stops a bank robbery.

That’s when the first ace arrives in the mail.

That’s when Ed becomes the messenger.

Chosen to care, he makes his way through town helping and hurting (when necessary) until only one question remains: Who’s behind Ed’s mission?

 

The Good:

I had no idea what to expect with this book and I enjoyed going on the journey with Ed and seeing how he coped with it. It was a really interesting idea and there were so many good moments and wonderful quotes within this book. I don’t particularly like his other book The Book Thief and so went into this hesitantly. This one is written really peculiarly but I did love it.

The plot was really original and I really liked seeing every different suit and how it changed, how Ed helped people, how he understood them, how he had to figure out each issue with no instruction. I also liked the interactions with the characters he’d never met but just helped as part of his message and how it helped him and changed him throughout the story.

The characters were mostly great. I really liked how in the final quarter of the book you got more information about a lot of the characters and this really built the story up. This is a book unlike any other and definitely has got me thinking about things I’ve never thought about before!

The Bad:

I know a lot of people would like the ending, but the ending ruined the book for me. I didn’t love it, I thought it was silly and only having read some reviews do I now understand it, which is not how I like to finish a book. I also don’t love reading books where the main girl character leads the best friend on and is upset when they aren’t continuously available because life changes. Audrey was just not a great character for me and I didn’t like how it ended. I think guys deserve better.

The Interesting:

I just loved how the book was structured: diamonds, clubs, spades and hearts. I thought it was a great way to continue the book and it made it easier to read. Also, I did love the character Ed!

Recommended for: People who love alternate storylines and unpredictable endings that keep you thinking. A great one for fiction lovers.

Quotes (Spoiler Free):

“I’d rather chase the sun than wait for it.”

“People die of broken hearts. They have heart attacks. And it’s the heart that hurts most when things go wrong and fall apart.”

“If a guy like you can stand up and do what you did, then maybe everyone can. Maybe everyone can live beyond what they’re capable of.”

“She soon says, “You’re my best friend, Ed.”
You can kill a man with those words.
No gun.
No bullets.
Just words and a girl.”

“Have you ever noticed that idiots have a lot of friends? It’s just an observation.”

Buy it here.

Have you read this book? What did you think of it?

Maddy xx

2 thoughts on “Book Review: I am the Messenger

  1. I’ve been wanting to read this book ever since I finished The Book Thief. But I’m one of those readers where the ending makes or break a book for me. Hmm… 😳

    Like

Leave a Reply

