book review

Book Review: Heartless

Title: Heartless

Author: Marissa Meyer

My Rating: 4 stars

P1050054.JPGGoodreads. Book Depository.

This was a great read and welcome entry into the wackiness of Wonderland. With characters new and old, I loved seeing how the Queen of Hearts came to be and how she
once was a girl with a dream. Full of fun and wonderland goodness, I would definitely recommend this read! Read on if you are alright with slight spoilers!

Synopsis:

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be a queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the King’s marriage proposal, she meets handsome and mysterious Jest. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into a secret courtship.

Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

The Good:

Alice and Wonderland is a classic, a setting that is fun and fantastic and entering the world of Wonderland in Heartless was fantastic. Meyer took a world that was already created and established but used it well, creating intrigue and looking more in depth at the characters we know and love. The dreams which came true like the lemon tree and the pumpkins and all those things added to the background and just make it whimsical and fun.

The characters were great. I loved seeing Cath and her love of baking throughout the story and her interactions with lots of different people. So hard to see her become the Queen of Hearts since at the beginning she was happy and content with baking, despite having ridiculous parents. Jest was adorable and I loved seeing what he brought to the character as the joker and as we learned more about him.

The additions from the original Alice were welcome. I adored the Mad Hatta and his attitude towards life (snarky characters are so good) and Haigha (Hare) and the Cheshire Cat as well as the ridiculous Red King. Meyer took these characters and didn’t destroy them, if anything it made me love them even more.

The story was doomed and though I knew it from the beginning I still hoped for some silver lining. The plot kept me enthralled from the start and I desperately wanted to know more. The ending was sad and heartbreaking especially when you think of the girl who just wanted to open a bakery. Definitely worth a re-read just to visit all the aspects of Wonderland that I zoomed past in the beginning.

The Bad:

I feel as though the third act was not up to the standard of the rest of the book. It went by really quickly and sort of snowballed. I suppose that is the way that it was meant to go and how life goes but there could have been more development before it all went wrong.

Also, in the synopsis it says that there is a secret courtship between Jest and Catherine. I would have liked to see more romance in secret than the two scenes we got before it all went crazy. I love romance and think it would have made more sense for Cath to really get to know Jest before she lost him, resulting in her being the Queen of Hearts. It all happened really fast and I would have like more development of their relationship, especially with how quickly she does a 180.

The Interesting:

I loved the world of Wonderland, I loved the references to what we know happens in Alice in Wonderland and I love seeing a villain’s origin story. It was interesting and compelling and well worth the read.

I also really found Catherine’s parents interesting and how they were so strong in the beginning and awful and then at the end tried to change. It just added a bit of sadness to the characters. “How different everything could have been,” she said, “if you had thought to ask me that before.”

Recommended for:

If you love fairytales new and old and love to read a book full of whimsy and fun, then this is the book for you. It is a great YA book.

Quotes (Spoiler Free):

“But hoping,” he said, “is how the impossible can be possible after all.”
“The easiest way to steal something, is for it to be given willingly.”
“When pleased, I beat like a drum. When sad, I break like glass. Once stolen, I can never be taken back. What am I?”
“Perhaps we know each other in the future and you’re only remembering backward.”
“A heart, once stolen, can never be taken back.”
“Fascinating, isn’t it, how often heroic and foolish turn out to be one and the same.”
“Her rage split her open.”
__________

Buy it here.

My 2017 aim is to write a review for every new book I read, to help me remember but also to impact authors. What did you think about Heartless?

Maddy

Leave a Reply

