book review

Book Review: The Resolution of Callie and Kayden

22060119

Title: The Redemption of Callie and Kayden

Author: Jessica Sorensen

My Rating: 4 stars

Goodreads. Book Depository.

This book wraps up the story of Callie and Kayden, nicely, despite not being the same standard as the first two books. Seeing the two of them in an established relationship is great and I love how the story has a happily ever after. You can find my other two reviews here and here.

Synopsis:

Things are going well for Callie and Kayden. They’re still dealing with their past and the pain connected to it, but for the most part they’ve moved on. The biggest decision they have at the moment is what they want to do with their lives in the future. 

Eventually, though, the past catches up with them and they’re left facing tough choices. But Callie and Kayden learn that as long as they have each other, they can make it through just about anything. And in the end, they discover what they really want out of life. 

My Thoughts:

Callie and Kayden are well and truly together in this book and watching them navigate life is so sweet. While their pasts are not erased and the author doesn’t act as though they are which I appreciate, moving forward is something they are working on and they do it really nicely. I love that they move in together and that they are so happy around each other. Their interactions are so real and honest and raw and it makes every interaction between them one I love.

I like seeing Kayden get to know his older brother and how his family issues come back in this book. I like that the potential for recovery is seen in his brother and that is a comfort for Kayden, even if he is weirded out by getting to know him. In all the interactions with his family make my heart break but I like the closure that he receives. I just want to hug him. He is such a great character and his progression throughout the series has been great.

Callie is so much stronger than when we first see her and her arc in this book is great. Her interaction with Caleb shows how much she has progressed and is one of my favourite parts of the book. I also love that she is writing as a part of her recovery and that she helps her roommate. (I kind of want Sorensen to write a story about Hanna). Seth and Luke are also shining stars as usual but you don’t see as much of them as I would have liked.

The writing in this book is fantastic as usual with so many beautiful quotes and such wonderful writing.

This book wraps up a lot of loose ends which is good however some parts do feel a bit unnecessary and drag on. While I like how it ends, the last chapter is a bit kitch and overly happy but I guess thats a happy ending. It fell a little bit short but it was shorter than the other books so fair enough!

All in all, a good ending to the series, in keeping with the characterisation of Callie and Kayden.

Recommended for: Contemporary YA readers. If you love Colleen Hoover, Jessica Sorensen or other styles like they write, you will love this book!

Quotes (Spoiler Free):

“Is it possible to fall in love with someone even when you’re already in love with them? Because I’m pretty sure I just did.”

“In the existence of our lives, there are many coincidences that bring people together, but there’s only one person that will own your heart forever.”

“I am simply Callie. And he is simply Kayden. And we are simply us.”

Buy it here.


 

xx Maddy xx

Leave a Reply

