book thoughts

5 Reasons why I like Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

I thought to mix up my blog between the book reviews and Friday 5 (if I ever get to those!) that it would be a good idea for books that I re-read this year to write why I love them and think them worth re-reading. P1060044

I love to re-read books, especially favourite series or books from my favourite authors. I am slowly re-reading the Harry Potter series as I got the beautiful hardcovers and want to experience reading them. So here we go – 5 reasons why I love Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.

1. The Knight Bus

The idea of a magical bus that comes and helps a witch or wizard in need is absolutely fantastic. I was just about to say it’d be cool if we had that in our world but I guess that’s what an Uber is? Or a taxi? I love the whole concept of Harry being able to leave the Dursleys and what an exit! The Knight Bus is great and I love that is plays a part in the following books. I love that Harry pretends to be Neville and Stan Shunpike just doesn’t notice. I wish the Knight Bus existed in our world, muggle or not!

“How come the Muggles don’t hear the bus?” said Harry.

“Them!” said Stan contemptuously. “Don’ listen properly, do they? Don’ look properly either. Never notice nuffink, they don’.” 

2. Quidditch

I love Quidditch. This is a sport I would love, if it included flying broomsticks. i love seeing Harry and the Gryffindor team work against the other teams. They are not always victorious which is realistic and Wood is such a national gem. Harry is amazing on his Firebolt and it is so great to see him working against his issue with the Dementors for his Quidditch team. I honestly love all the team members on the Gryffindor team – Fred and George are just classic.

“And it’s Gryfindor in possession again, as Johnson takes the Quaffle— Flint alongside her —poke him in the eye, Angelina —it was a joke, professor, it was a joke…” 

“HARRY, THIS IS NO TIME TO BE A GENTLEMAN!” Wood roared as Harry swerved to avoid collision. “KNOCK HER OFF HER BROOM IF YOU HAVE TO!” 

3. Remus Lupin

Ahh Remus. Uncle Moony. I will never have enough words to express my love for this character. The man who deserved better. I love that he is such a good teacher and treats Harry, Hermione and Neville will so much respect. I think that he is amazing at how he shuts down Professor Snape and yet is classy enough to ignore him. I think that the way he handles Harry discovering the Marauders map and Snape is absolutely classic and just amazing. For a man who is a werewolf and lives wth that difficulty and stigma for ever, he is so kind and smart. The interactions with him and Sirius are heartbreaking and honestly, this book takes characters onto the next level. Also so sassy! King of sass!

“If you made a better rat than a human, it’s not much to boast about, Peter.” 

“Well, hello, Peter,” said Lupin pleasantly, as though rats frequently erupted into old school friends around him. “Long time, no see.”

4. The Marauders Map and the Marauders

What a cool invention! Can you believe that 4 teenagers came up with the Marauders Map? Most definitely would have given Fred and George a run for their money. I love Harry discovering the Marauders Map and their history, and I think it is fantastic that it plays a huge part of the rest of the books. The scene where Harry is found by Snape to have the map and it insults them? Oh pure gold. I adore these four and while their story is so amusing, it is also heartbreaking when you think of how their stories end.

“Mr. Moony presents his compliments to Professor Snape, and begs him to keep his abnormally large nose out of other people’s business.

Mr. Prongs agrees with Mr. Moony, and would like to add that Professor Snape is an ugly git.

Mr. Padfoot would like to register his astonishment that an idiot like that ever became a professor.

Mr. Wormtail bids Professor Snape good day, and advises him to wash his hair, the slimeball.” 

“I solemnly swear that I am up to no good.”

5. Sirius Black

And now to my final reason why I love this book – Sirius Black. J.K. Rowling did a fantastic job at creating a wonderful character. Morally grey of course but such a fantastic character to read on the page. Sirius is innocent and what does he think of doing straight after he escapes? “I want to commit the murder I was imprisoned for.” CLASSIC SIRIUS. He is such a drama queen and I love it. Instead of saying, “I’m innocent and Peter is guilty” what does he say to Harry, Ron and Hermione? “Only one shall die tonight.” DRAMA DRAMA DRAMA.

Every moment that Sirius is on page, he steals the show. I love the reunion between Remus and Sirius, I love the almost happiness that Sirius and Harry had and I love that Sirius sends a permission form for Harry for Hogsmeade. This character is my favourite (apart from Harry) and I must admit I am still so mad about how Sirius’ story ended in book 6.

Well there you have it! 5 reasons why I love Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. What about you? What are your favourite parts/elements of Harry Potter 3 that you love? Let me know in the comments.

xx Maddy xx

2 thoughts on “5 Reasons why I like Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Leave a Reply

