book review

Book Review: Wires and Nerve

Title: Wires and Nerve Vol. 1 P1060047.JPG

Author: Marissa Meyer

Art: Doug Colgate

Rating: 4 Stars

Goodreads. Book Depository.

I really enjoyed jumping back into this world! Seeing it in graphic novel was also fantastic. If you loved the Lunar Chronicles and enjoy a fun, fast paced read, this is perfect for you.

Synopsis:

In her first graphic novel, #1 New York Times and USA Today bestseller Marissa Meyer follows Iko, the beloved android from the Lunar Chronicles, on a dangerous and romantic new adventure — with a little help from Cinder and the Lunar team.

In her first graphic novel, bestselling author Marissa Meyer extends the world of the Lunar Chronicles with a brand-new, action-packed story about Iko, the android with a heart of (mechanized) gold. When rogue packs of wolf-hybrid soldiers threaten the tenuous peace alliance between Earth and Luna, Iko takes it upon herself to hunt down the soldiers’ leader. She is soon working with a handsome royal guard who forces her to question everything she knows about love, loyalty, and her own humanity. With appearances by Cinder and the rest of the Rampion crew, this is a must-have for fans of the bestselling series.

My thoughts: 

This book was really fun and I loved seeing the illustrated world of this series. I always thinks its great to see how one person interprets the characters and I loved seeing that a lot of the characters were how I expected like Jacin and Winter.

I read the Lunar Chronicles last year and thought it was great and so when I heard that there was a new book, a graphic novel about Iko based straight after Winter, I couldn’t wait to finish it!

This book is short and sweet. It’s a great introduction into what may happen with this graphic novel series. I’m a little confused because I am not sure whether there will be only 2 volumes or multiple but I still loved it despite finishing it in 2 sittings.

Iko is a great character and I love seeing how she deals with being seen only as the Android helper. I like her sarcastic comments and her love for Cinder and the whole group – except perhaps Kinney *Wink*. I also love that she is determined to make things better for the world. So different to her character in Cinder who was obsessed with Prince Kai and just wanted to be human.

You get to see a lot of the characters from previous books as well return in this novel. You see Kinney and the whole crew as well as Torin and a few others. But its also great because you get to see some new characters like Jacins father, the other officials on Lunar, and of couse the antagonists, the wolf-hybrid soldiers.

This book isn’t plot heavy. It’s not very in depth. That being said,it is a graphic novel and a short one so there is plenty of opportunity for this to increase. As I finished the book I found myself wanting more.

I’m not super keen on the Iko and Kinney storyline. He’s mean to her since she’s an android and I feel weird about trying to stick a robot and human together. Not only that, but it would be nice to have someone in this series who wasn’t with someone. Not everyone needs to be coupled authors!

However, that being said, I do love the vibe that Kinney and Iko give. It kickass, truthful and I just want more from them, just not romantic stuff.

I adore the illustrations and I love that they are in blue and leave some things to the illustrations. I haven’t read a lot of graphic novels so I love seeing all the action scenes across pages and the different ways the artist has created the movements and flashbacks. You can see my picture for a sneak peak!P1060054.JPG

All in all, this book was really fun and great and I can’t wait till the next instalment, though I think we will have to wait a while!

Recommended for: Lovers of the Lunar Chronicles. You need to have read them to read this book or else everything is spoiled!

Quotes:

“That’s not necessary. I’m doing what any good friend would do, out of loyalty and Lunar patriotism and–”
“I’ll buy you a new pair of shoes.”
“Sold.”

“I misread the romantic tension, Didn’t I?”

“It is a beautiful irony that the great queen we’ve ever had is the first to take off her crown.”

“She could be a fire hazard. Maybe we should remove her from the ship before she spontaneously combusts.”

Buy it here.


Have you read Wires and Nerve? What did you think of it?  Let me know what you think in the comments!

xx Maddy xx

Leave a Reply

