book thoughts

5 Thoughts on “A Court of Mist and Fury”

IMG_0443A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas was my top read of 2016 and I read it earlier this year in preparation of A Court of Wings and Ruin which was released in May. I meant to write down these 5 thoughts a while ago, but alas, university study and work has gotten in the way.

There are so many reasons why I love this book and listing only 5 is really tough! Read on for 5 thoughts about A Court of Mist and Fury.

PLEASE NOTE: As this is a post on thoughts and the second book in a series there will be spoilers ahead!

  • Thoughts about the writing.

I have said this before and I will say it again. Sarah J Maas has a way with words and I love it. She has such a great way of combining words and feelings and emotions and tearing your heart out. This book just pulls you in and everything else disappears while you turn the pages. I remember reading this book so fast the first time because everything just keeps happening. The tension in this book is wonderful and keeps you begging for more.

“To the stars who listen—and the dreams that are answered.”

“The Court of Dreams.
The people who knew that there was a price, and one worth paying, for that dream. The bastard- born warriors, the Illyrian half breed, the monster trapped in a beautiful body, the dreamer born into a court of nightmares…And the huntress with an artist’s soul.”

“Then I would have torn apart the world to get you back.”

  • Thoughts about Feyre’s depression and character growth.

I will forever express that this book has one of the best character arcs I have ever read. I love, love, love that Feyre’s depression is addressed in this book. She has every reason to be struggling and I think that her depression after killing two innocents is completely understandable and accurately portrayed in this book. I also think that showing how Tamlin struggles is important too, even though it doesn’t excuse anything!

It is really great to see how Rhysand plays a role in helping her, by giving her a safe space, but it is also awesome to see Feyre come to terms with her depression and battle it herself. She doesn’t just get over it all at once. She takes time to heal and focus on other things to help her heal. She also decides to ends things with Tamlin long before anything with Rhysand because she knows that he is not right for her. Her realisation that she deserved better is also fantastic as you see the reality of Tamlin’s abuse come forth.

Feyre becomes such a powerful character in this book, as she learns to handle her powers and what it means to truly be herself. By learning her power, she begins to heal and I love seeing her come to terms with everything, even though it is not all miraculously healed.

It truly is such a joy to read her character progression and adds so much to the plot.

“When you spend so long trapped in darkness, Lucien, you find that the darkness begins to stare back.”

“I was not a pet, not a doll, not an animal.
I was a survivor, and I was strong.
I would not be weak, or helpless again
I would not, could not be broken. Tamed.”

“And I realized—I realized how badly I’d been treated before, if my standards had become so low. If the freedom I’d been granted felt like a privilege and not an inherent right.”

  • Thoughts about Feyre and Rhysand.

I love this couple so much! Feyre and Rhysand are such a power couple and one of the reasons I love reading this book is to see their love story come together. Their story isn’t one that comes together easily, they don’t fall into each other’s arms which is good.

They don’t fall in love with each other in a simple way, despite being *spoilers* mates. She is confused by him and he is aware by how much she has gone through. They become friends first and then best friends, despite all the tension between them. Their friendship becomes a safe place for the two of them and I think that is so important.

They fight, they flirt, they joke – everything a good relationship should have. I love that it seems somewhat natural. There are so many reasons and so many quotes behind why I love this couple but for me to explain that, I would need multiple posts and hundreds of quotes. Rhysand is dreamy and gorgeous and I love that he supports Feyre through a lot. I also love that Feyre is so aware of everything Rhysand has sacrificed. Such a power couple.

“He thinks he’ll be remembered as the villain in the story. But I forgot to tell him that the villain is usually the person who locks up the maiden and throws away the key. He was the one who let me out.”

“I fell in love with you, smartass, because you were one of us—because you weren’t afraid of me, and you decided to end your spectacular victory by throwing that piece of bone at Amarantha like a javelin. I felt Cassian’s spirit beside me in that moment, and could have sworn I heard him say, ‘If you don’t marry her, you stupid prick, I will.”

“If you were going to die, I was going to die with you. I couldn’t stop thinking it over and over as you screamed, as I tried to kill her: you were my mate, my mate, my mate.”

“My friend through many dangers. My lover who had healed my broken and weary soul. My mate who had waited for me against all hope, despite all odds.”

  • Thoughts about the Inner Circle. 

The inner circle are complete #squadgoals. I love every one of them. I love it when Mor first meets Feyre and teases Rhys. I love Cassian and Azriel and how they interact with Rhys and Feyre. Cassian is an absolute dear and I love every page that he is on. Amren is wonderful in this book even though she is a bit scary and I wish we knew more about her!

Their family dynamic is wonderful and I love that they call each other on their crap and don’t just accept what Rhys is saying. They joke, they tease and they love each other, in their different ways. Their Court of Dreams is such a contrast to what is in the Spring Court and I love that they have a role in Feyre healing from her depression too. My favourite scenes come from Mor and Cassian and how they interact with Feyre. They help her so much and I love it.

Honestly, if I could find an Inner Circle like Rhys I would be quite happy!

“There are good days and hard days for me—even now. Don’t let the hard days win.”

“Come on, Feyre. We don’t bite. Unless you ask us to.”

“It’s ok. I’m alright.”

“You know I’m always happy to tangle in the sheets with you, Amren,”

  • Thoughts about the ending. 

The ending was phenomenal. I was inwardly screaming by the time I turned the last page and was so upset and felt so empty. It was such an edge of your seat thrilled and I think that Feyre’s sacrifice, while shocking and heartbreaking was the only way forward. Hearing Rhys cry out “No,” when she told the king to break the bond – absolutely heartbreaking. Seeing Lucien’s suspicion also was amazing and I love that it finished on simultaneously a high but also a low.

Sarah J Maas certainly knows how to finish a book!

“And so Tamlin unwittingly led the High Lady of the Night Court into the heart of his territory.”


This is only a few thoughts about ACOMAF  – honestly, there are so many more as I think and write.

This book is truly the best of the series and I quite often pick it up just to flick through to my favourite parts! I’d love to hear what you think of this book – please share your thoughts in the comments.

xx Maddy xx

 

One thought on “5 Thoughts on “A Court of Mist and Fury”

  1. Great review! I just stumbled upon your blog today and I have to look more into it! I love your posts, and I’m looking forward to reading your future content!

    Stop by if you get a chance,

    Mena from noirerewritten.com ✨

    Like

Leave a Reply

