book review

Book Review: The Upside of Unrequited

Title: The Upside of Unrequited P1060971

Author: Becky Albertalli

My Rating: 3.5 stars

Goodreads. Book Depository.

This book was a really cute contemporary novel. Widely diverse, I really enjoyed the cute romance between the two main characters even though the rest of the book did not have much of an impact on me.

Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love—she’s lived through it twenty-six times. She crushes hard and crushes often, but always in secret. Because no matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. Will is funny and flirtatious and just might be perfect crush material. Maybe more than crush material. And if Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker Reid. He’s an awkward Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him. Right?

My Thoughts:

This book follows the story of Molly, a slightly chubby girl with a severe case of ultimate crushing. Molly has had multiple crushes but no boyfriends. For a girl with a sister and two Mums in love, this story follows her as she meets two boys, one who is incredibly hot and one who is the nerdy guy she works with. With her sister finding a girlfriend, her world is turned upside down as she has to come to terms with a lot of changes.

I really enjoyed the story of Molly and her friendship with Reid which turned into more. It felt really natural and lovely and Reid was absolutely adorable.

What they had is something I wish for and had me sighing lots of happy sighs. It felt really realistic especially as Molly freaks out about him and Olivia. I like that they talk and chat about all kinds of things but they also are really keen on each other and want to hide it. THIS is what I want in my life and I found myself reading more and more just so I could know what happened. I feel like Molly’s reactions were spot on, and I found a lot of my own thoughts on page which is always great.

As much as I loved Reid and Molly, I unfortunately didn’t love this book. There were a lot of annoying aspects to it – I particularly didn’t love the character of Cassie and felt that she treated Molly really badly. I understand that when a new relationship comes up, things may change but I really dislike reading about twins who are awful to each other. It sets a bad precedent. There also wasn’t a whole lot that happened in this book that interested me – I read it about a month ago and I have forgotten so much of what happened which is not good. A book needs to hold you after the story finishes, or else you never return to the page.

There were so many similarities with this book and Fangirl and I must admit, as Fangirl is my favourite contemporary, this one just didn’t live up to what I expected.  It was very diverse which was great but I also felt like nothing was happening. It’s a very easy book to read, and I finished it very quickly which is great – on to better things!

I’m glad I read it and would recommend it for the love story, but there was not a whole lot to grab me other than that.

Recommended for: Contemporary book lovers. If you love cute stories, with a bunch of widely diverse characters you will love this book!

Quotes (Spoiler Free):

“I don’t entirely understand how anyone gets a boyfriend. Or a girlfriend. It just seems like the most impossible odds. You have to have a crush on the exact right person at the exact right moment. And they have to like you back. A perfect alignment of feelings and circumstances. It’s almost unfathomable that it happens as often as it does.”

“Because I have to admit: there’s something really badass about truly, honestly not caring what people think about you.”

“I want to know what it feels like to have crushes that could conceivably maybe one day turn into boyfriends.”

Buy it here.


Have you read this book? Did you love it? Hate it? Let me know what you thought of it in the comments.

xx Maddy xx

One thought on “Book Review: The Upside of Unrequited

  1. As a rule, I don’t do audiobooks, preferring instead to read the written word. However I made a recent exception for this book. I won’t opt for audiobooks usually, but this one is a gem.

    Like

Leave a Reply

